of Great Britain and Ireland
(limited by guarantee)

The Society was founded in 1884 as the Proportional Representation Society. It assumed its present title in 1959, and was incorporated in 1969.

Its principal object is to promote and extend the use in elections of the Single Transferable Vote (preferential voting with quota counting) in multi-member constituencies.

The Single Transferable Vote is currently used in elections for the Parliaments of the Republic of Ireland, Tasmania and Malta; for the Australian Senate and the Upper Houses of the Indian & Pakistan Parliaments; for European MPs in the Republic of Ireland and in Northern Ireland; for all local authorities in the Republic of Ireland, Northern Ireland and some in Australia, Canada and the USA, and in the United Kingdom for many public and professional institutions, trades unions and voluntary bodies.

The Society seeks to secure the adoption of the Single Transferable Vote in elections in the British Isles and elsewhere, for parliaments, for provincial, regional and local authorities, and for other public and semi-public bodies. It also recommends the Single Transferable Vote to other organisations for all their elections.

To further these ends, the Society conducts research into all methods of election. It also has a subsidiary company, Electoral Reform Services Ltd., which conducts elections for a wide range of public and private bodies. A second subsidiary company, Electoral Reform (International Services) Ltd, provides training in all aspects of election organisation and provides election observers, particularly for emerging democracies.

Its associated charity, the McDougall Trust, maintains a library and publishes the journal Representation.

The Society is managed by a Council, which is elected annually.

Applications for membership are invited from all who support the aims of the Society. These should be addressed to:

The Electoral Reform Society

6 Chancel Street, London SE1 0UU

Telephone 020 7928 1622

Fax 020 7401 7789