Our poets and translators

Michael Alexander
Guillaume Apollinaire
Gavin Bantock
Ros Barber
Beverly Bardsley
Charles Baudelaire
Bei Dao
Asa Benveniste
Oliver Bernard
John Birtwhistle
Ana Blandiana
Johannes Bobrowski
Nina Bogin
Elisabeth Borchers
Keith Bosley
Louis Bourne
Heather Buck
Norman Cameron
Josep Carner
Nina Cassian
Paul Celan
Yanbing Chen
Ruth Christie
Brian Cole
Tony Connor
William Cookson
Jane Cooper
Tristan Corbičre
Anca Cristofovici
János Csokits
Adam Czerniawski
Peter Dale
Jibanananda Das
Dick Davis
John Digby
Tom Disch
Stefan Aug. Doinas
Carol Ann Duffy
Seán Dunne
Alistair Elliot
Odysseus Elytis
Martina Evans
Graham Fawcett
Jennie Feldman
J D Frodsham
Robin Fulton
Nikos Gatsos
J L Gili
Louise Glück
Johann von Goethe
Luis de Góngora
Peter Green
Harry Guest
Nikolai Gumilyov
Yehuda Halevi
Michael Hamburger
James Harpur
Tony Harrison
D W Hartnett
Olav H Hauge
Michael Hewlings
Nâzim Hikmet
David Hinton
Friedrich Hölderlin
R J Hollingdale
Geoffrey Holloway
Philip Holmes
Richard Holmes
Anthony Howell
Peter Huchel
Ted Hughes
Victor Hugo
A B Jackson
Peter Jay
Devadatta Joardar
Francis R Jones
Kim Jong-gil
Donald Justice
Edmund Keeley
Sarah Kirsch
Edward Kissam
Marius Kociejowski
Jules Laforgue
Ivan V Lalic
Margitt Lehbert
Peter Levi
Gabriel Levin
Li He
Li Po
Federico García Lorca
Tom Lowenstein
Charles Madge
Chen Maiping
Iona Man-Cheong
E A Markham
Alan Marshfield
E Powys Mathers
John Matthias
Christopher Maurer
Thomas McCarthy
Bonnie S McDougall
Richard McKane
Matthew Mead
W S Merwin
Alan Moore
Stanley Moss
Pablo Neruda
Gérard de Nerval
Friedrich Nietzsche
Cyprian Norwid
Dennis O'Driscoll
Justo Jorge Padrón
Octavio Paz
Anne Pennington
Marcus Perryman
János Pilinszky
Po Chü-i
Vasko Popa
F T Prince
Sally Purcell
Jacques Réda
Oktay Rifat
Rainer Maria Rilke
Arthur Rimbaud
Yannis Ritsos
Peter Robinson
Tadeusz Rózewicz
Peter Russell
Heinz Winfried Sabais
George Savidis
Francis Scarfe
Michael Schmidt
Peter Scupham
George Seferis
Vittorio Sereni
Robert B Shaw
W G Shepherd
Philip Sherrard
Ruth Silcock
Michael Smith
Sue Stewart
Greta Stoddart
Rabindranath Tagore
Charles Tomlinson
Georg Trakl
Tu Fu
Julian Turner
Paul Valéry
Paul Verlaine
François Villon
Anneliese Wagner
Donald Ward
Andrew Waterman
Eliot Weinberger
Daniel Weissbort
John Welch
Sándor Weöres
John Wheway
Peter Whigham
Walt Whitman
Joe Winter


Anvil Press is housed in Neptune House, a building that has been used at various points in its 100-year history as a dance-hall and a printing works.

Its staff consists of
Peter Jay Founder and editorial director.
Kit Yee Wong Administration, rights, office manager.

In 1998, Anvil Press celebrated 30 years of publishing with an anthology of poems, chosen and introduced by Peter Jay, drawn from the press's publications. The book illustrates the range of poets and kinds of poetry which the press values - but is also intended as a browsable bedside book.

The following poem by the late Ivan V Lalic, translated by Francis R Jones, lends its title to the anthology.

The Spaces of Hope

I have experienced the spaces of hope,
The spaces of a moderate mercy. Experienced
The places which suddenly set
Into a random form: a lilac garden,
A street in Florence, a morning room,
A sea smeared with silver before the storm,
Or a starless night lit only
By a book on the table. The spaces of hope
Are in time, not linked into
A system of miracles, nor into a unity;
They merely exist. As in Kanfanar,
At the station; wind in a wild vine
A quarter-century ago: one space of hope.
Another, set somewhere in the future,
Is already destroying the void around it,
Unclear but real. Probable.

In the spaces of hope light grows,
Free of charge, and voices are clearer,
Death has a beautiful shadow, the lilac blooms later,
But for that it looks like its first-ever flower.

Ivan V Lalic
Translated by Francis R Jones

From The Spaces of Hope
224 pages

 Carol Ann Duffy

About Anvil Press

Submissions & jobs

Contact & ordering information